Organic Solvents

Hello again all

I was diagnosed with MS in 2011, after which my doctor went through my medical history and pointed out symptoms I had reported going back to a case of drop-foot in 1991.

From 1990 to 1995 I had worked at a plastics factory, and my job included using gallons and gallons of paint thinners to clean the products, It wasn’t until 1992 that we were issued with rubber gloves - and even then it was hard to avoid getting drenched in thinners. I have seen studies that suggest that exposure to such chemicals can be a cause of MS.

Do I have a case here for employer negligence? Does anyone else have similar experiences?

I am not normally litigious, but the damage this negligence has probably caused has got my back up.

Hi

I have no experience of this myself and have no idea about employment liability…helpful i know! I have never personally heard of the link between paint thinners and MS before.

Could you speak to a solicitor to get some advice? Also i’d re-post this on the everday living board - I know there are a few people there who may be able to help you.

Best of luck

Laura

Hi Bostick,

Like you, I’ve seen some evidence linking MS to exposure to industrial solvents. However, I do not think the evidence is conclusive enough for you to have any chance at all of a successful negligence claim. Too many people get MS who have never (knowingly!) had any significant exposure to solvents, so you would find it extremely difficult (I believe impossible) to prove causation (an essential element of a negligence claim) - i.e. that your MS definitely came about as a result of the chemical exposure, and not spontaneously, like the thousands of others who have never worked with chemicals.