Forum

New to site

Hi there, My name is Louise.

I was diagnosed with MS about a month ago, I was wondering if anyone had any advise on how to help my husband understand exactley what this diagnosis means. I was hoping the ms nurse would give us loads of info that would help but unfortunatley she wasn't much help. Also I was wondering if symptoms like the major fatigue i've been experiencing is constant or should it get better after the relapse is over?

Hi Louise I am kind of new to site as well I was diagnosed in March. At the beginning my husband didnt want to tell anybody (not even family). I believe now he was scared and just wanted to get his head around it first which he has done remarkably well.

My MS nurse gave me literature from the MStrust which were brilliant both for him and the children. I too was very fatigued it is probably my main problem but it has improved, so much so that I am returning to work in august. I am sure that there are others on the site with more experience than me but I hope this gives you some comfort that hopefully things will improve.

Take care

missy

Hello Lou.

Welcome to the family.

Having MS dont mean your life is over,you are also going to have highs and very lows as you come to terms with it.Patience is the key for everyone,it takes time getting used to.Having MS dont mean your life stops.I have a friend who has milder MS and she leads a full life,she jogs daily and works hard.

If you have fatigue badly tell husband and family NOT to wake you up,this is the worst thing to do to someone with MS fatigue.He should check you are ok but do not wake you up.