New to MS

Hi

I am Karen i am new to having Ms and i am finding difficult to cope with Ms and feeling like i have been hit by a truck with my world being turned upside down. How are new suffers to Ms coping and how do they live with it and their partners cope.

Hi Karen,

I too am newly diagnosed.

to be honest it totally sucks ass, 2weeks ago I was on my 8th week of optical neuritis.

on my follow up eye doc apt he sent me straight to see a neurologist who booked me an emergency MRI 2days later I get the shocking news.

so far I have been moody, a lot of self pity, anger, & lots of made up/new symptoms. (Neuro said I prob had the tingling before but ignored it, fatigue is defo a newbie tho, prob the steroids)

however I have the plus side of amazing friends & family inc a 12year old diva who has now turned out to be my rock!! My partner is constantly reassuring me & I know at some point I will have to do the same back but atm I don’t have the energy, he is amazing tho!!

Iv yet to go back to work (2days I worked from home then decided I needed to deal with this so had this whole week off)

i cry/laugh daily I’m sure at some point we will get over these feelings of grief, until then I’m plastering a smile on my face and sleeping whenever I like!!

Rach xx

I’m not newly diagnosed, but I 100% go along with Rachel’s opinion that it ‘sucks ass’.

I suspect you are both going to be going through an emotional roller coaster over the next few weeks / months / years. It takes as long as it takes to ‘accept’ that you have MS. And after 20 years I can tell you I have not ‘accepted’ it nor ‘come to terms’ with it. MS Is crap.

People say there’s all those stages like denial, anger, acceptance. I say knickers to that. It’s bloody bad luck.

But life does go on. And at least having been diagnosed, you’re not living the absolute hell that is limbo, thinking you probably have MS, being tested, and told it’s not, or it’s not yet, but might be in the future.