MS Nurse

Hello everybody. I’m a lurker and have only posted a couple of times before. I’m a bit down at the moment having recently been to see my MS nurse. It is not her fault, but every time I see her, I get really really low afterwards.

I’ve got Primary Progressive MS. Was diagnosed about four years ago. I work full time as a PA for a financial company.

The two things that annoy me are that she keeps on advising me to leave work even after I’ve told her several times that I can’t afford to live if I don’t work.

She is also always trying to get me to do volunteering. I would love to, but I just don’t have the time. I give regularly to a dog charity as well as an elephant sanctuary. I also go on sponsored walks with my husband and dog. However, my walking is now suffering. Strangely, I can cycle for miles… but can only walk for 5 minutes before I need to sit down as my leg goes weak. So this year, I’m looking into joining charity cycle events.

Sorry, i’m going off track… Literally! haha.

My question is this…, is there really any point in keeping an MS nurse? What are your experiences? I feel personally, that she hasn’t told me anything that I can’t get from this forum, or the internet as a whole. Also, I feel that i’m wasting NHS funds by continuing to see her. Finally, I get depressed every time I see her. I know that that is partly down to me because I get reminded about how ill I am/going to be.

Thank you for reading.

1 Like