MRI Appointment

Hi all,

I posted last week about my ophthalmology appointment on Weds, following Optic Neuritis (which came on about 5 1/2 weeks ago). The Ophthalmologist wanted to refer me for urgent MRI. Got the appointment through in the post today and am having a head and ‘orbits’ mri on 9th December.

As I understand it, ‘Orbits’ means eyes. The pictures afterwards should be interesting!

My question is, should the MRI include spine also? Obviously, I’m not a health professional, but I know that the point of me having the MRI is because Optho and GP suspect MS. I have my first neuro appointment on 25th November. Should I mention to him about the MRI not including spine? Or will that just make me look as though I have been ‘self diagnosing’?

Basically, I don’t want to waste any NHS time or resources by requesting additional screening. However, not sure if it would be better to include spine now so that it doesn’t have to be done in the future (if necessary).

Any thoughts or advice gratefully received!

PGxx

My urgent MRI is of head and spine. Not got the appointment through yet though x

Doesn’t the head one include orbits anyway? I thought it did but not sure (just wondering cos I didn’t have orbits asked for but optician thinks I have neuro prob with eyes). Can’t hurt to ask about spine being added as it would be reasonable for you to have looked up ms if they have mentioned it and know its often requested. Axx

Hi PG

They put MRI head & orbits to direct the radiologist to specifically where they are interested in - also it may influence the types of cut they take on the MRI as you don’t want big chunky slices that will miss the contents of the orbit. This is most likely why your neuro-ophthalmologist is doing this.