Managing pain

Hi everyone

I’m fairly new to all this, I’ve only been diagnosed since June 2022 and this is my first time here.

The support I’ve had from the MS team and my family has been beyond wonderful and I’m grateful to have so many people around me trying to support me but I think I needed to speak to other people living with it

The thing I’m struggling most with is pain, ongoing pretty much my entire body is hurting almost constantly at the moment. I don’t think the cold weather is helping as it’s got worse since the temperature dropped but its so exhausting! Painkillers don’t do anything, yoga helps me take the edge off but it doesn’t go away. I have some adaptations at work but I cant seem to sit or stand comfortably in any position - does anyone know any other ways I can try manage it?

It’s not to the point I’m immobile again thankfully so I can still move about but it’s starting to get me quite down that even with all these things in place I can’t seem to shake the constant aching. My limbs feel like they’re made of lead.

I’ve accepted that I need to stop running at 300mph like I usually do and rest often which in itself is a struggle for me but this pain just seems to linger, I guess I’m hoping all the experience in the room may have some better ideas than mine!

Sorry for the essay but I needed to get it off my chest!x

Everyone’s experience of pain is different and that goes for MS-related pain too, but I have to say that the whole-body, chronic pain you describe is quite unlike my experience of 20+ years of RRMS. I have had acute relapses causing particular local pain,and damage from old relapses that cause residual, local and specific pain either constant or from time to time when I’m overheated or over-tired or whatever. But I’m talking a patch on my neck, a patch on my torso, both legs, worse lower down - that sort of thing. Not general and generalised pain.