Limboland :(

Hey everyone,

I’m new to the MS Society, and decided to post on here because you all seem like lovely supportive folk!

I am a 21 year old male, not currently diagnosed with MS. I have only had the usual bloods/blood pressure tests etc. done along with an MRI of the brain/ears towards the end of last year.

It all started early last year when I just didn’t feel ‘right’, it’s difficult to explain. There was a certain ‘offness’ about me, but I couldn’t quite point out what it was. I started developing a general apathy towards things, mainly those of a physical nature such as exercising or going out (I used to lift weights on a regular basis). I didn’t feel I had the right ‘energy’ to do things that I would normally do. I also had random episodes where my mind felt extremely hyperactive and felt like I had to ‘escape’ from my surroundings for a few minutes; I almost CRAVE isolation these days!? I also had other minor problems that I didn’t really think about such as frequent urination, occasional mild tingling in my heels/toes, short bursts of hearing ringing in one ear (5 seconds or less) and fatigue.

I attributed these symptoms to anxiety as I was revising for difficult exams at that time and really wanted to try my best, so I presumed the stress had a part to play.

I gradually dismissed this idea of it being a result of anxiety as I could notice worse and more identifiable physical symptoms cropping up as I would exercise or take a shower. I felt like I couldn’t feel my arms and legs during exercise and would feel extremely lightheaded where I thought I would pass out (still the case today), and I felt wobbly and strange when taking a shower.