Jimmy Saville

I feel disgusted with my dealings with Jimmy Saville and feel I must explain. I did not like the person; I thought it was his personality I could not stand; perhaps subconsciously it was something more.

I was diagnosed in 1973 some 40 years ago by a Dr. Carol at the Guildford Royal Surrey Hospital.

In those days there were no different types of MS; you either had it or didn’t.

In 1978 I started using a wheelchair; which enable me to move about the different Terminals at Heathrow Airport where I was a baggage tracing agent for British Airways.

In 1979 I was contacted by a man called Ivor. He said he was one of Jimmy Savills’s helpers at Stoke Mandeville where they were trying to raise the money to build a new wing. The BA Staff in Glasgow had raised a large amount and BA had given him airline tickets to go and receive the cheque; would I go with him as I was BA and in a chair?

He was also a wheelchair user and accompanied him and his lovely wife Hilda. Afterwards they invited me to Stoke to see the hospital and their plans.

The hospital was more or less about 20 prefabricated huts left over since WW2 joined by covered corridors. The gardens all around these huts were immaculate; would put Wisley to shame.

Each hut had about 10 beds and every bed had a patient who one minute was a Footballer; Rugby Player; Swimmer; Athlete or just going about the normal things in life. The next minute their life had been turned on their head; bedridden and having to rely on others to help with bodily functions.

Sure I was a wheelchair user but what was happening to me was slower; at least I had time to adapt. Jimmy Saville was a peculiar person but he certainly had people in droves wanting to give him money while he sat on his golden throne smoking his Cuban cigar.