im new to this

hi im only 32 and i got told i had ms in may this year and im finding it found to come to terms withit

hi digby

its a big thing for anyone to come to terms with. have you got anybody to talk to? sometimes our nearest and dearest are struggling themselves to come to terms with your diagnosis.

i started going to a local ms society branch for a yoga class. it was good to be with people who understood exactly what i was going through.

i now go to an ms therapy centre which is further away but i really like the crowd who go there. they have lots of different treatments on offer. i started going there for HBOT (hyper barric oxygen therapy) but i’ve had a cold for months now and it hurts my ears. so this week i’m going to try one of the other therapies. crystal light therapy perhaps.

maybe you could join a pilates class. it’s really good for core strength and most physiotherapy is based on it.

it’s one of those things that you have to accept. there are many people being given a diagnosis of something terrible and even terminal. ms isnt a terminal illness and it is possible to lead a full and active life with it.

i suggest that you take it slowly but do join a group - either an ms group or an exercise class.

the hardest thing for me was that my body changed so quickly.

my physio told me that i needed to learn how to use my new body. it is possible!

however last night i abused it and got myself a hangover (i never learn)

wishing you luck

carole x

Hello Digby,