Hi.

Hi all. As you can probably tell, I’m new to this! I thought I’d just pop in and say hello. I’m 44 and was diagnosed with PPMS about 5 weeks ago, and now that things have sunk in a bit, it’s time to start making the best of what’s going on. I’ve been popping in and out of here for a couple of weeks to see how things work, and you all look like a happy, positive bunch, so it looks like I’ll be here for the long haul!

Looking forward to plenty of chats, I’ll probably shed a few tears but hopefully lots of positivity shared around.

Hi Anna, welcome to our little gang!!! Lovely to see you on here.

Yes, takes some time to get used to the dx… but you’ll get there. 5 weeks isn’t very long at all so expect the whole rollercoaster of emotions… including relief (some people feel guilty about feeling that… so I mention it in case you do… but it’s quite normal… I mean it’s much better to know what you’ve got and there are worse things to be dx with). Give yourself loads of time to get your head round it.

As you have no doubt now realised, PPMS is NOT the end of the world. It means some changes, and more changes as you go along, and different plans than you might have set out with, but life does go on and it still has it’s joys and sorrows that have nothing to do with MS.

If you have any questions come on here and ask them. Some of us know more about PPMS than the neurologists… certainly more about symptoms and how to cope with them. We’ve been through the ups and downs so understand what you’re going through.

And there are some little ‘ups’ believe it or not. That thing about having to make changes and not having the same future as planned isn’t all bad. MS can teach the value of living ‘one day at a time’ and enjoying the small stuff… good things to learn.

Take care and so glad to have you on board.

Pat x