Help!

HI, I’m very newly diagnosed (RRMS), I’ve been battling the NHS for 8 years to get some sort of diagnosis and my symptoms were always blamed on my underactive thyroid and a vit D deficiency that doesn’t get any better! I used to be such a very strong person, and was hoping when I got a diagnosis, things would start looking up. But now it seems, the more research I do into MS, the more I am worrying about my future. It’s quite hard to talk to the people around me as I do tend to hide my symptoms. And I really don’t want this to define me. But it’s a struggle to put on a face everyday and pretend to still be the strong person I was, when I feel like I’m crumbling inside. So, I guess what I am asking, how did you handle your diagnosis? Any advice would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile: Leia

Hi Leia,

You’re going to be OK.

People see the person you are, not the illness you have.

Anthony

1 Like

Leia,

Welcome to the club; no doubt one you did not wish to join.

I was diagnosed when I was 62, only two years ago, but had experienced MS type symptoms since the 1990s. When the diagnosis finally arrived it was a great relief in many ways, as it helped put some of my life’s experiences into perspective.

I would recommend that you take a look at the following website and obtain the free book on MS. I has guidance about diet and exercising, aspects which are vital to manage your symptoms.

I have been following the Jelinek diet for over a year now with excellent results. My mind feels a lot sharper having given up dairy products. I was a vegetarian already so the progression to vegan was easy.

In addition, I would recommend that you consider taking CBD (cannabidiol) that is extracted from the cannabis plant. CBD is much in the news at the moment and it is perfectly legal. I use a paste that I obtain from CBD Brothers. I use it to manage neuropathic pain and stiffness in the limbs.