HELP!!! i have injectors block

Hi all,

I have been injecting avonex for 9 months now and was never nervous about doing it but all of a sudden one of the pens wouldnt go off and when it finally did i jumped and caught a vein…blood everywhere, now i have intense fear of giving the shot especially if it fails 1st time, anyone help me overcome this fear have had to ask family members to do it and im no woose!! feel like a right wimp :frowning: thanx for your time.

Sam

Dear Sam

I had the same as you. At first I could hardly bear the Avonex lance (they all laughed like drains at the Wheatsheaf, my local ms meetup) and when I was sqeamish about learning to inject on an orange there was more raucous laughter then.

Later I learned that there were others too, like you and me.

I don’t have Avonex now. I’m winging it. But when I was injecting I found it much easier injecting into my stomach. Then after a year or so of doing that someone told me it would not be as effective as it should be deep muscular.

Needless to say, I was not sad to say goodbye to it. Now I manage my ms with diet and vitamin care. How much better I would have been on Avonex is hard to say. I am declining very slowly but it is slow, as expected. Avonex ruined my Friday for five years, and this is a better alternative for me.

Mark

Hello sam, it must be awful for you to have a genuine block about this. The first thing to remember is that it was a fault in the pen which let you down. Hitting a vein was down to just bad luck as well. If the subsequent injections have been ok then perhaps you can tell yourself that it was just unfortunate and that the chances of it happening again are very remote. It’s logic over instinct I’m afraid. Easy to say but hard to carry out. In short-you can do it. Keep telling yourself that soon you will take the pen, thank your relative for their time and get on with it.

Best wishes, Steve