Hello, I’m newly diagnosed

Hi I’m Paul,

I’m 49, I was taken into hospital for a suspected stroke and diagnosed with RRMS 3 days later following an MRI, this was back in May. I lost all feeling on my right side which they treated with steroids. After several months am now left with just my right hand numb, I struggle walking because of balance and my foot drop, horrible vertigo, sharp fleeting headaches, constant fatigue and it feels like I’m thinking through clay. I’m wondering if I’m still in my initial relapse or is this how life is now?

Hi Paul
In the short time I’ve had with MS (Diagnosed in Feb, but actually had it for 10 years or more), one thing we can say is that there are almost as many flavours if MS as there are sufferers.

There are certainly some incidences of RR which progresses, namely it doesn’t fully reset after each flare. Whatever variant you have, be positive about all the good things you have in life.

2 Likes

Hi Paul,

I am not a medical professional so could be totally wrong.

Your description reminds me of relapses I have had. No two cases of MS are identical, but many symptoms and conditions are common to many people. I had relapses that rendered me bedridden, however subsequent to my relapses I tended to recover to 80-90% of the previous condition. I have had decades of pretty good health and life mixed with some not so good bits. I was able to continue working and travelling. So I recommend you live each day as it comes.
All the best
Mick

2 Likes

Hello Paul

Welcome to the forum, I’m sure it’s still a bit of a shock to the system, but we’ll do our best to help you adjust to your ‘new normal’

I’ve found that relapses are just like MS, they’ll do their own thing each and every time. This means there is no single answer to your question. Sometimes you just have to live with what you’ve got right now and wait to see what happens next.