Forum

Have anybody had to give up work?

Hello, I was recently diagnosed in October 2012, I had not worked for the three weeks leading up to my diagnosis and then finally my hospital admission. I was then told I was not to work for the next 3 months. I am a cooking teacher and rely heavily on having lots of patience, strength and endurance in my day. Which often I have trouble doing this in my normal day. I find that I have trouble multi tasking, staying on track, easily distracted ( I was getting into the shower and here I am!) finishing tasks, (dishwasher still not fully packed!) and have very limited patience somedays. I also have weakness in my left arm and find that somedays I could really sleep the day away! I really can not see myself going back to work. and I am someone that if I can not do it with 110% like I did before getting sick then I can not do it half heartedly. Everybod has stold me to not stress with the little things like messy house etc, but I find this very hard as being organised and tidy is me! that who makes me ME! With not working I have been anle to say to myself that bler! the dishes aren’t done will do them tomorrow! but when you work their is No tomorrow!

So I am wondering if anybody else has had to quit work and how did you go about telling your employer? I am very nervous and scared as I loved my job and I know they dont want me to go!

thank you x

Hi, i have not yet been diagnosed yet, but the way i feel at present i can relate a lot to what you are saying. I am a supply teacher but have been unable to work since the middle of January. It is driving me mad! I really struggle with patience at the moment, i have 2 young children of my own and am finding looking after them a lot more difficult!

Vic

Simple answer: yes, a lot of us do.

Important answer: DON’T RESIGN!