Forgetfulness

Please help anybody who suffers memory problems. I am beginning to forget even the everyday things like taking my pills. I have just started setting alarms and writing lists. This is causing me great anxiety as used to have a good memory. The neurologist is changing me from gabapentin to epilim not sure if it’s the change in meds or ms or a bit of both.

Hi Emma

Cognitive problems, especially including forgetfulness are very common for MSers. I use the following tools:

• A calendar, this is held online, on my iPad, iphone and also on my husbands phone etc.
  • A diary, this is an online app, again accessed by iphone and iPad. I use it to keep records of health issues, it’s helpful as I can put tabs on different types of health issue (eg relapses, bowels, bladder etc) so I can check progress of things. I’ve been keeping it for about 4 years now, not daily but fairly frequent. Originally this was a written diary but my writing’s pretty iffy now.
  • A notes app, I write down what I need to ask eg the GP or neuro. I also have a list of usernames and some password hints (just things like the number of letters and numbers required).
  • A shopping list app, so as I think of something I need it goes on the list.
  • I read on a kindle, so I have loads of wish lists of books I want to read. I also use a website called price drop tracker, this not only tells me when books go down in price, it also has a list of authors who’s books I’ve read and liked. Without it, I’d never remember their names.

I don’t really use my phone as a phone, apart from the odd text. It’s much more about organising my life and helping my memory.