Fatigue - your golden rules

Dear All!

I have been diagnosed 7 months ago, and I am still learning. Despite having suffered from fatigue before, not knowing the name of the beast meant that I never really dealt with it properly.

Now, I feel very isolated, as my surroundings do not understand what I can and cannot do. It has also gotten a lot worse recently. So I would really appreciate your help in speeding up my learning phase. I know it’s different for everyone, but understanding your golden rules/learnings for your fatigue may give me a few pointers for mine. So here we go: My burning questions! :slight_smile: I understand fully that you cannot give actual facts as answers, and I am really just keen to know what’s it like for you.

1. Is there a tell-tale sign of fatigue being imminent? Something that will allow you to act quickly and avoid the worst?

2. How do you rest? I just lay or sit around and watch TV, but am starting to think that this may not rest my brain sufficiently. And I feel no better after it.

3. It is said that heat can cause a spell of fatigue. I am wondering: Is that immediate? And do I just need to cool down to feel better? I swam in a too-warm pool last week, which may or may not have set it off, but that was 8 days ago. What is the delay between a stimulant (stress, temperature, …) and the fatigue?

4. They say good diet is important. Now, I’m a vegan who eats fish anyway, which I think happens to be exactly what they are suggesting MSlers do (Haha!), but I eat sweets. Again, what is the delay between eating sugary stuff and feeling shit? Or is that more of a general eat-well-feel-good thing? I’ve heard the insulin drop after a sugar rush can cause fatigue, but that would only last a few hours, I think?

5. Experience with green tea vs. coffee? Is one better than the other? Stay clear of caffeine or does it work for you?