Fatigue & Work

Hi,

After working all week, I had an awful weekend. Saturday took my mum out to do our weekly supermarket shop, had lunch, came home about 2, was sooo tired couldn’t lift my feet - slept for 3 hours, then again at night and the same Sunday.

I work all week & sleep all weekend - there must be more to life! I have asked to drop to 4 days but it seems a long process - I’m only an administrator in a big company! I’ve been off work the last couple of days cos I felt so dreadful, but I worry about how my bosses will react. Sometimes I feel that cos they can’t see anything, they think I’m putting it on or making the most of my ppms and when I say fatigue, well you can just imagine the eyebrows lifting!

Sorry another rant!

I’m new to this forum - but am amazed by the amount of support thats here - thank you :slight_smile: :heart:

Lin

Hi Lin,

I realise it’s not easy but stop worrying about your job. Being a large company they must know about the Equalities Act and the ‘reasonable adjustments’ they must make by law to keep you employed.

I suggest you contact Access to Work, http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/DisabledPeople/Employmentsupport/WorkSchemesAndProgrammes/DG_4000347 lots of help available. To help with your fatigue how about a taxi taking you to and from each day; saves on the very tiring commute. You only pay the equivalent bus fare.

Lots more help and they will discuss with your employers about hours worked and could you do some of your work from home?

Good luck

George

Hi Linda, and welcome Lovely to see you on here.

I had to give up work even before I was dx (I had an ME dx at the time). Just couldn’t do it. Fatigue was sooooo bad I was locking myself in toilet and crying! I always felt like I was ‘coming down with flu’… and one time a co-worker said ‘Coming down with flu AGAIN! You are always coming down with flu!’ and everyone laughed.