Forum

disability access

Hi, I work in a shop which has a step in to it and furniture over 4 floors. I am pretty good but do struggle when I’m having a bad phase. I had a lady in a wheel chair wanting to come into the shop today. We don’t have a ramp and the lady said by law we should. Actually , having ms myself, I felt very bad. My boss always says if someone can’t get in then I should take out the catalogues for them to look through. what are the guidelines on this? I want to be able to say to my boss what the requirements are and know that I have the facts.

Hi, well as fab as the DDA is on paper, there are a lot of shops/offices/banks in my area, which are old buildings and exempt from the rules!

I have a kerb climber on my wheelie, which allows me to climb a step of up to 4 ins. But it takes some welly and a steady hand on the joystick to perform the manoevre successfully. I dont climb anything over 2/3 inches as it knocks me about a bit.

I wont be doing it just yet, with my new spc…ooh the thought makes me shudder.

If you google the question re access, you should be able to get an answer.

luv Pollx

The law says that service providers (the shop) has to make a reasonable adjustment to the service or how they provide that service. The company for example as big as Apple computers may be required to install a ramp whereas a small shop with only limited turnover may provide the service some other way e.g. bringing a catalogue out for you to look at.

Some of the shops in my old market town have a portable ramp that they will bring out if you bang on the window or call through the door. Personally I don’t find this very satisfactory. I just want to get about my business not make a fuss. Shops should make reasonable attempts to give access to everyone and I suppose in an old building this is reasonable but I don’t like it. I would like even less looking at a catalogue in the street. Your shop wouldn’t get my business I’m afraid.

Jane