Changing Meds

hi all. new to here. was just wondering if anyone would be willing to share their experience of using Tecifedra and Gilenya? At my last review, there were slight changes on the brain. I have been injecting rebif for the past 2 yrs (since my dx) and now this is killing the fatty layer in my bod and it basically looks like i’ve had a lump bitten out of my butt! Because of this, and the changes in the brain, the nurse has advised a change of meds and Teci and Gilenya are the options i was given. then she proceeded to scare the s**t out of me in regards to possible side effects. now, she did say I could stick with the rebif for a while longer, but that the other drugs are better effectually. i may be over reacting, but the side effects (and a slim chance of a brain bug!) are really frightening to me. and making this decision, when i’m the only one that can make it, is pretty scary to me. i would appreciate any advice anyone has to offer. :slight_smile:

Hi,

I am on Tecfidera for the last 5 months. This is the first DMD for me so can’t offer much advice really.

All i would say is don’t be scared of the side effects mention with Tecfidera as you maybe wouldn’t be effected by them. And your ms nurse and consultant would keep regular checks on your bloods so don’t worry about the brain bug.

What ever you decide i hope it works out better for you.

Hi Alison,

I am currently on copaxone- was on rebif before that and I have now been given choice of Tecfidera or Gilenya. After much research I have decided on Tecfidera and just hope I don’t get the side effects or at least can manage them ok. From what I have discovered most of the side effects of Tec happen at the start of treatment and after the first few weeks subside greatly. I was told by neuro that if Tec doesn’t agree with me I can try Gilenya or Aubagio.

It is scary making the decision though. Good luck whatever you decide

Cathy

hi