Forum

Caffeine and fatigue

Would I be correct or incorrect in saying that caffeine could contribute to me feel g fatigued?

Please let me know your thoughts.

thank you

I think you are the best judge. Never noticed it myself. Quite the contrary. I can’t get started at all without my coffee. It gives me a quick perk-up at any time of day (no pun intended re perc), and I also find it to be a mild pain reliever. I don’t know if it actually lessens the pain, or just makes me not mind as much, but either way, I don’t care - the net result is the same - feeling better.

Tina

Hi

I think it can contribute to fatigue. It’s look sugar - it may give an initial high, but then you can have a crash afterwards. And the problem with being a regular drinker, you become an addict and need it to get going. On Trust Me I’m a Doctor on BBC2 earlier this yea, they did an experiment on different types of pick-me-ups like caffeine or sweets. One of the things they found was that, for regular caffeine drinkers, it would only get people back to ‘normal’ (i.e. what’s normal for non caffeine drinkers-.

if you’ve got the self discipline, something you could try is giving up sugar. I’ve not done it myself but I have cut back a lot. But everybody I know or have read about who have done it have all said the same thing - after the initial withdrawal symptoms, they have loads more energy now, with no highs & lows, and would never go back to eating sugar.

Dan

coffee is an essential part of my life!

my bladder nurse insists that i should switch to decaff and i try but there always comes a point when i say “stuff this, i need a caffeine fix”.

saying that, i’ve yet to have my first coffee today…

…watch this space!

carole x