Avoiding heat

i’m very new to this, i have no knowledge of MS as yet, i need to start doing my research after being diagnosed today. partner managed to bring my appointment forward from April to today because of my symptoms and my results of my lumbar puncture had arrived.

i’ve been taking warm/hot showers and my symptoms have got worse. can hardly walk at all, left leg numb and cant use my left hand and arm, am typing with one hand.

i told the neurologist this and she said that heat can make flare up’s worse. she didint have time to explain any further because of other patients needed to be seen.

can somebody please explain this further to me or recommend a link where i can read more into information about things like these. the do’s and the don’t.'s.?

thank you.

I’m newly diagnosed and haven’t suffered from heat intolerance as of yet. But I didn’t want to read and run. From what I have read you are best avoiding extreme temperatures where possible. Sorry I can’t be more help. Xx

Hi Oceanblue,

Sorry to hear about your diagnosis.

One of the (few) consolations of MS is it doesn’t come with a huge list of dos and don’ts. Everybody’s different, so you just have to learn to interpret what your body’s telling you about what feels OK, and what doesn’t.

Even if you get it wrong sometimes, it’s unlikely you’ll be doing yourself any permanent harm. You may get an unpleasant but temporary worsening of symptoms, but these are not a sign you’re making the illness progress any faster. You just need to get used to what’s fine for you, and what isn’t, and the only way you find out is by trial and error.