A Final Post

This needs to be said. In my brief experience as a newbie here, I have seen the best and unfortunately the worst of people too.

I was open and honest in my first post on 5 Sept (To Be or Not to be MS), sharing my story. Like so many still-to-be-diagnosed sufferers I am at a vulnerable stage, especially emotionally; which is why I joined the forum in the first place. When I posted another message on 8 Sept (A Little Knowledge…), it was to express my distress at what I felt was a breach of confidence, and one that could happen to others if care is not taken. Perhaps, on reflection, I could have been more sensitive, but nothing in that message was outrageous or factually incorrect.

For the record, as anyone can see on the forum threads, ‘Tumefactive Demyelinating Lesion’ had never been mentioned in any of my previous posts; it was indeed new information, disclosed by someone else after the exchange of personal messages which were meant to be private. If I’d intended for my brain damage to be discussed in public and in more detail, I’d have started out public and not private. My response when it was put onto the forum for discussion was therefore emotionally charged, but in control. It was not meant to be inflammatory, and nor was it a character assassination, as has been suggested - in fact I also said positive things about the poster because they obviously had helped a lot other people. I appreciate that an apology was made and I too regret that she was upset.