Temporary improvement of steroids?

My neurologist ordered a three-day IV steroid course followed by oral treatment. I’m in a potential four months plus long relapse that ramped up with new symptoms a week ago. I’ve never used steroids before. The first infusion was yesterday. I was very surprised to already today notice several improvements - no internal vibrations, fewer cramps, easier to stand and walk. Is it possible that these improvements are temporary and just due to being high on steroids? I can hardly believe it and I am afraid to trust that they are “real.” Until now I haven’t had any “good” days - the symptoms have been there the whole time.

Thanks all

Pella

hi pella

i had iv steroids and felt great, felt strong and unstoppable.

then i had a massive episode of roid rage!

my temper went through the roof.

me and the family survived though!

for me the improvements were temporary but you are not me so good luck and i hope your improvements last.

carole x

Hi Pella

I’ve spent a lot of time telling people that steroids can work wonders, then the next time fail utterly.

In the last few weeks I’ve discovered that they can actually work flipping miracles. I’ve had oral steroids before and always thought they weren’t as good as IV. And yet held onto the belief that sometimes they are exactly what’s needed.

I’ve had a relapse (supposed to be SP, but you know, MS does what the hell it likes, when ever and to whomever it pleases) and very quickly realised it was a relapse, tested my wee, no infection, checked the use by date of the steroids I had and decided to take them. Then emailed my MS nurse to tell her what I’d done.

And halle-bloody-luiah, they didn’t just make my so called ’good’ leg start working again, and my left hand able to form a fist again (which had been badly affected very fast), they actually made my ‘bad’ leg start picking up a bit better too.