Tecfidera and lymphocytes

Hi all

I just got a message that my lymphocytes are a bit low. I’m 6 months into Tecfidera. How many people have low lymphocytes that then recover? I would have thought if it were going to affect lymphocytes it would’ve shown up on 3 month bloods rather than 6 months. I don’t think it’s a major issue cos they are just retesting after a further month rather than immediately.

Sue

I had an immediate decline of about 50% to my lymphocytes at month 3.

This stabilised to being closer to about 75% by month 6 and has remained steady ever since.

This is what i had hoped to see / had expected. You are a little different, which let’s face it, is of no surprise.

I am not a doctor or anything like that, and so take this for what it’s worth…

but i would try not to be concerned; blood cell counts can fluctuate as a fact of life.

The only thing better than some data, is more data. More tests will allow your situation’s picture to develop. And even if it is found that you are categorised as low, it takes a good deal of time for this to necessitate a change, such as to the DMD you take.

Ultimately, it is good you and your ‘team of dedicated health care professionals’ are on the case with this!

Good luck and fingers crossed for an up turn in your cell counts!

Thanks Paulo. In fact I tried looking for your experience through your previous forum posts because I knew you’d had a dip earlier on but found too many to search within! (Who’d know it?)

In fact I do have a pretty dedicated health care team. I just picked up a text from one of them, answering my question as to whether to have the flu jab or wait till after the bloods come back. (She said wait till after.) The Tecfidera/Tysabri team are pretty good, they have a mobile that one of the 3 nurses always takes home and although I’d said they didn’t need to answer me immediately, she did!! Amazing huh?