Suprapubic Catheter

Hi there,

I am new to this and am desperately seeking any answers or advice on behalf of my mother. Please bare with me if I waffle or if I dont make complete sense…

My mum is a MS sufferer and has been for the last 16 years. She has a suprapubic catheter fitted which was to eliminate the problems associated with toilet use and make that part of her daily living hassle free. However, it is becoming a daily battle and is making my mum very upset and at times embarassed as it does not work properly anymore. She has had it fitted for quite some time and it has been amazing but now it is constantly becoming blocked and causing the urine to bypass the catheter completely and causing her to become wet where it leaks out the traditionally way… The catheter is being changed at least 3 times a week now as it is impossible to unblock it and it is very painful for her to have it changed. She is having to wear pads in her underwear incase it leaks (which it almost certainly will) and as she is wheelchair bound and cannot dress, undress or wash herself, it is very difficult and painful for my mum when a change of clothes is in order, clearly this is becoming very upsetting for her.

The nurses have been amazing and are very gentle and sympathetic towards her but no-body seems able to give us an answer as to why the catheters keep becoming blocked. She has tried every catheter available (as far as we know) and is now on a silver coated one that was supposed to be better but again within a couple of days it is blocked again. She is having a bladder wash done at least twice a day and has started drinking filtered water incase it was something in the water causing the bladder to fur up or crystalise but nothing is working.