Stupid questions?!!

Morning everyone

I don’t normally see this time on a Saturday morning but couldn’t get back to sleep as have a couple of questions going around in my head…so thought I should get up and ask!! I am new to all this and you will prob think they are rather stupid but please be kind!!

1. I am struggling to understand the difference between symptoms and relapse. How do you know if you are having a relapse??

2. It was only through reading on here that I am beginning to understand that DMD’s don’t actually slow the progression of MS but hopefully cuts relapses by around 1/3- if you are lucky. If they cut relapses, how can it not be slowing progression? Surely if relapses are happening less ofter then less lesions are forming?

As you can prob tell…I am a little confused…and rather than ask MS nurse i knew i would get better answers for everyone on here!

Emma

Id be interested to know the answers to second question as I was wondering that… In my eyes, if you refuce relapse then the relapses aren’t happening so is that in itself not affecting progression as deterioration usually occurs in a relapse? The first one I was told a relapse is something that may be impacting on your daily life and abilities, so sensations, numbness depending where not so much… However affecting walking then may be considered a relapse! There is a definition on this site. X x

When I start going numb which is what normally happens to me, i was told that if it was lasting more than 5 days it would only then be classed as a relapse. I had symptoms of dizzyness and periods of confusion(only lasting a minute or so)for 2 or 3 days before the numbness started. One thing i’m pretty sure of is that i get symptoms all the time now, from pain in my hands, vibrations, aches and the other day i had a kind of muscle spasm all down one leg. For me, when i’m in the midst of a relapse i definately know about it.

Take it easy.