Scared of IV steroids

Hi guys,

I am currently having a relapse and the MS Nurse has booked me in for 11am on mon, tues and wed for IV steroids so it means going into work (I am a school teacher and start back on monday) then to the hospital and then back to work. The nurse said they are gonna leave the cannula in. She said I could ask to have it put into the inner elbow instead of back of hand if I want it hidden, but wouldn’t it be uncomfortable having it put in at a joint that bends?

I’m petrified about the infusion though. The nurse today told me that I may get insomnia, facial flushing, emotional etc so am worried about how I will cope at work next week, not just the days of the infusion but the aftermath too :frowning: I have had oral steroids once before but only 200mg tablets twice a day whereas this will be more and all in one go.

I feel sick with worry.

X

hi

i nave never had iv steroids-only oral but cant u get the days off work til u have the steroids? i am aware that will not be simple but as u have no idea how u are going to react would planned time off be better than having to cover u at last min? if u ever need them again u will have some idea of how u may be?

lots of folk have had iv steroids-the will be more helpful that me.

try not to worry,easier said than done i know.

take care.

ellie x

I’m with Ellie - better to take some time off if at all possible. You might have to wait, plus the infusion can take a couple of hours, then you have to get back to work so you might not actually be there for very long anyway, plus you’ll have to deal with any side effects while there. For example, not everyone gets it, but IV steroids give me the most appalling taste which, unless I’m sucking Murray Mints literally non stop, makes me horribly nauseous. The thought of trying to teach with that going on, well, I wouldn’t even attempt it!