Recent diagnosis, just saying 'hello'!

Hello all,

I have been lurking & reading for a couple of months.

I’m a 39 year old scientist, Surrey based, and I am currently recovering from optic neuritis (began 3 months ago). Although vision is much improved, it changes from day to day & still disconcerting. It lead to diagnosis in February. No surprise, really, as I had lesions, numbness & loss of proprioception 10 years ago, and MS is on both sides of my family.

I am fortunate that I am currently able bodied, in fulltime employment & in the position to do something to help.

Today I entered the ballot for the 2016 London Marathon (hopefully) to run for the MS Soc.

I feel like I should be doing something, but what else can I do to help? Any ideas or suggestions?

Ju ju.

What should you be doing to help? Help with what?

It’s OK, Juju, an MS dx does not oblige a person to become Mother Teresa of Calcutta… Keeping yourself as well as you can be for your own benefit and the benefit of those closest to you is top priority, I think. Staying as well as possible also means you have as much as possible to give. You’re in this for the long haul.

Seriously, being newly dx is a tricky time for everyone, pretty much. It is normal to feel buzzing with nervous energy one minute and totally drained the next. I think this applies whether the dx has come out of the blue or not. There isn’t really any way of preparing for that sort of news, and it comes loaded with so many 'what if’s that it is hard to know where to start to assimilate the news. Time and patience are usually the best remedy, and neither of them can be rushed.

It’s great that you are staying positive and keeping yourself focussed on new things and new goals. I wish you well with them all. But don’t worry if you find it hard to keep the positivity flag flying all the time. It’s terrific if you do, but it’s also OK if you don’t. So please don’t be hard on yourself if you find your energy flagging.