Reasonable adjustments

I work as a IT manager in a gp surgery. I’ve got MS, which was diagnosed a year ago. Last week, I asked my manager if some of the more minor duties of my job could be allocated to someone else. This was refused out right. I feel that my energies would be better concentrated on the major parts of my job rather than running up and down stairs to deal with someone’s jammed printer. I didn’t mention ‘reasonable adjustments’ at the time. Would this be classed as a reasonable adjustment?

In the past year I’ve asked for somewhere quieter to work, refused, somewhere quiet to have a break, nothing done. But, we’re just undergoing a partnership change with new managers etc. and I’m not sure if this is the time to rock the boat or just wait for a bit to see how things work out over the next few months. One of the new managers is a HR expert so maybe I would be better off waiting a bit? My practice manager is the sort of person who said ‘that will be difficult’ when I needed time off last year with a relapse so you can see the sort of person I’m dealing with!
Thanks for any advice

Hi Lindylou,

Not all adjustments are automatically “reasonable”. It depends to some extent on the resources of the employing organisation to fulfil them. For example, would they realistically have anyone else who could fix the paper jams without their existing duties being compromised, or is it likely they would have to hire somebody, just for that? It would be disproportionately expensive to do this, and besides it would be a difficult one to advertise, because you couldn’t really make a proper, worthwhile job, out of just the bits you’d rather not do. Would they pay someone just to sit around and file their nails until the printer jams?