Quitting the pursuit of diagnosis: What would you do?

Hello everyone on the forum, I’m new here…

This forum has been very useful to me these past years, so a big thankyou to all that contribute to it.

Now, I hope you can perhaps share your insights on a tough decision I’m currently making. After two years of symptoms, gradual creeping in; fatigue, numbness, bowel and bladder problems etc. my neurologist is putting me through MRI’s and various tests…I’ll get to the point. Though we should never self diagnose my gut tells me its Primary progressive ms. Why? Because in these two years I have seemingly had no relapses or remissions and I seem to have a combination of symptoms common in PPMS.

I AM CONSIDERING DROPPING THE PURSUIT OF A DIAGNOSIS. My reasons being I drive for a living in London, I have two children 5 and 8. I have heard about the Nightmarish ordeal of dealing with the DVLA. If I get a diagnosis I don’t have skills to do much else.

For all I know it could be something else, BUT. IF I DID get diagnosed with PPMS, is it even worth it as there is nothing that can be done for the disease anyway!? From what I’ve read you just get sent on your way, And I would be forced to deal with the unsympathetic DVLA. There PDF Document says if its progressive you cant drive.

Whereas if I just closed the lid on this, then at least I could work a few more years until I knew I wasn’t capable anymore and then go for a diagnosis. Many of you probably think I’m mad. But I don’t have office qualifications or experience, and driving is all I know and I want to support my family as long as possible.

You could say, well it could be hundreds of other things. I know this. But somehow the way the symptoms are presenting themselves and in the combination I have them, ppms seems to be the closest match over anything else I’ve researched.