Do I have anything to gain from diagnosis?

Hi,

I was diagnosed with CIS about 2 years ago and have been having relapses in the past year. I went to see a neurologist yesterday hoping for some kind of treatment to help. He wants to send me for another MRI to confirm MS, but after reading through all the treatments…they sound awful! Im currently a Taxi driver and will probably have to stop doing so after a diagnosis. My question is: Is it worth being diagnosed? It just seems I have nothing to gain and everything to lose for a treatment that sound worse than my current symptoms.

Im just stressing out a bit as I have 4 kids and a big mortgage 8-(

Hi

85% of people diagnosed with MS have relapsing remitting MS. If you are diagnosed with RRMS, then you can get a disease modifying drug which is designed to reduce the number of relapses and reduce the severity of this relapses. If you want a DMD with as few side effects as possible, then you could go for one of the older DMDs like Copaxone, you inject subcutaneously (just under the skin) 3 times a week. It has few side effects but only has on average a relapse reduction rate of 30-35%. Or Plegridy, an injection once per fortnight, side effects being mild flu type feeling, but only for a day or two. An equal relapse reduction rate.

If you go for one of the more efficacious DMDs then you run into the risk of more side effects.

If you think you’ve had relapses that have given you symptoms which have improved over time, a diagnosis of MS is likely to be RRMS.