Forum

PIP assessor lied and now I have no clue what to do?

Hi I’m new to this but I would really appreciate some advice. I was diagnosed with RRMS in 2014 aged 24 and was immediately advised to claim PIP as I was a hairdresser but lost the use of my right arm and leg so this career is now no more :(. I was awarded high rate care and standard mobility immediately without f2f assessment, in 2016 I was called to be 're assessed and again which involved f2f and the award stayed the same which I felt was brilliant! I have just been reassessed again and it was a f2f home visit, the stress and anxiety made my symptoms worsen on the day which I suppose may be a helpful thing however it clearly didn’t make a difference as I received my award notice yesterday saying it has now been stopped! I’m in complete shock as upon reading the reason for their decision it is apparent that the assessor has told some lies :frowning: just 1 example: I unscrewed a bottle of water with ease and without help…i did not have a drink whilst he was here nor do I ever use screw top bottles mainly due to the weakness in my arm and hand. So I am now extremely confused and upset I have rang dwp and asked for a copy of the report because I don’t no the full extent of his lies it did however say in the letter that the assessor noticed no abnormalities or difficulties with my lower limbs which in my eyes is another fabrication of the truth as my husband helped me to stand to do the physical assessment of which on numerous occasions I explained to the assessor I couldn’t do what he was asking because of the numbness and weakness in my legs and feet. I’m just now wanting some advice on what to do next? I’m planning on the mandatory reconsideration but what would help this go In my favour? Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I’m in bits about this and it’s really had a bad effect on my symptoms since receiving the letter yesterday :(. Thanks Laura.

Hello Laura