odd comment from GP

Hi everyone.

I’ll try to keep this short. Ive had a fairly miserable 6 months or so. had a variety of symptoms. mainly dizziness, imbalance, difficulty focusing, carpul tunnel type symptoms of shooting arm pain, numbness in both hands .( gp has ruled out carpal tunnel) . also had muscle spasms in arms and legs and spacticity in right pinky finger ( has shortened in length and i am unable to close it into my other fingers). muscle spasms in legs causing difficulty walking. numbness in legs and feet. also terrible spasms in back . spasms in lower back resulting in legs buckling unexpectedly. finding it difficult some days in work, im a nurse and on feet alot. also have tightness , discomfort and swelling around joints of fingers and have seen a rheumatologist who said i definately dont have rheumatoid arthritis or any other inflamatory condition. I discussed possibility of MS with GP who said i might have MS but told me its difficult to diagnose. GP also asked me if i would want to know if i had MS. I thought this was an odd thing to say. anyway i am waiting for an MRI. Just wondered if anyone could check through my symptoms and let me know if they are typical or not and also has anyone else’s Gp asked if they would want to know if they had MS

thanks so much

That is an odd comment from a GP! I can’t imagine anyone not wanting to know what was wrong with them because then you can receive the right medication and access to the right health practitioner.

It certainly can be a long haul getting a diagnosis of MS and it is impossible for a GP to diagnose it - only a neurologist can do the right tests. Has your GP referred you to one?