Normal chest xray is this part of diagnosis?

Hello all Just joined here today, I’m in the process of diagnosis as doctor suspects MS. At my neurology appointment the doctor said he was going to arrange a ct scan for my head and my spine. But I just got a letter today for a chest xray at my local infirmary. Just a 15 minute process according to leaflet with letter. I’m a bit confused as there was no mention of this, is this a normal part of diagnosing? I wouldn’t have thought a normal xray would show what they need to see? But obviously I’m no doctor lol Did anyone else have a normal chest xray as part of diagnosis? Thanks Suzie

Hello Suzie

No, I can’t see that a chest x-ray has any part to play in neurological testing. I’m surprised by the CT scan too. Unless there’s a reason why you can’t have an MRI (metal in your body etc). The CT scan certainly won’t show as much as an MRI would. And I’m not convinced you can use it as part of a diagnosis of MS. If you can’t have an MRI, I’d have thought a lumbar puncture would have been ordered as that does form part of the evidence collection for an MS diagnosis.

So, it all seems a bit odd to me.

Sue

1 Like

No idea really. However, prior to my diagnosis three years ago, when i was in the hospital having been admitted via a &e being partially paralysed, a range of tests were run. These included CT scan of head and neck as well as chest x-ray. These are probably used to rule out certain things rather than actually diagnose something.

Incidentally, when i was admitted again in June with suspected relapse (it wasn’t) a chest x-ray showed up a chest infection. I was A symptomatic of that and a urine infection.

1 Like

Hi Sue, My apologies, it wasn’t a ct scan it was an mri scan got the two mixed up!

Hi Susiee

Have you had any results yet?

Sue

1 Like

I recently had a chest x ray as part of the diagnosis process that I’m going through. Doc said it’s to rule out MS mimics.

1 Like