New to the forum and need some help

Hello everybody,

How are you all

I am new here. It’s been a year since I was diagnosed with ms. I am on avonex since the last relapse. It has been working for me but I do experience balance problems after walking for sometime. I needed help and thought this would be a great place for that. It would be really nice of anyone who could guide me with the kind of jobs that are available for people with ms . I am a recent medical graduate but think it’ll be hard to practice because of altered sensation in hands and inability to work for very longs hours as I get tired easily. I don’t know the nhs system very well as I have recently moved to uk. I would be really thankful if anybody could help.

hi gupz

i dont suppose you’re in a trade union?

would you consider doing an admin role in a hospital?

you never know, your version of ms might be gentle and not interfere too much with work.

try posting on everyday living because its a much busier forum and you’ll have a better chance of getting a reply.

good luck

carole x

Hi Gupz, and welcome,

This is a deceptively simple question, but has no simple answer.

The reason being that MS strikes everyone differently, so there is no list of jobs that are/are not suitable for people with MS.

There are very few jobs that would be closed to you by law, although I would think soldier, firefighter or airline pilot would prove a bit tricky, as I doubt you could meet the required standards of fitness. But otherwise, you cannot be turned down for a job simply for having MS, and in most cases (except the few where full health would be crucial) you cannot even be required to disclose it.