New GP Powers V PCT's

Hello All!!

Just heard this morning that GP’s will have more ‘control’ over their Budgets from now on. Thus (from what I can gather) excluding the PCT’s.

Do you think that this will mean that medicines etc will now be available as it will be for the GP’s to decide?

So will this mean, there might be less ‘hoops’ that one has to jump thru to try and get something that will help us, even though it has not been specifically prescribed for MS?

Albeit, ppl know that it works for certain symptoms…

Thnx in advance

God Bless

Anna x

I work as a manager for a gp surgery. I don’t think that much will change any time soon. Gp’s will still have a prescribing budget to stick to. The Clinical Commissioning Groups will still have to stick to the list of drugs they are allowed to prescribe. Drugs are normally classed as green, amber, red or black. Anything that falls into the red/black group are not allowed to be prescribed by gp’s except in exceptional circumstances.

So, for now, I can’t see much changing at all. If anything, gp’s will be even more careful with their prescribing as they will have other gp’s on the Clinical Commissioning Group to answer to.