members who are policemen please ignore

Hi everyone except policemen, i am currently awaiting an MRI. 3 months ago i accidentily went through a red traffic light and nearly caused an accident. at time i thought i wasnt concentrating but since i have done it another four times. i have never done this before. im not aware that light is red when approaching and keep going, i have passengers shouting at me to stop. now im having to concentrate very hard on the position of the light as im not trusting myself. when i look at green and red in front of me i know the difference. has anyone any ideas as to what is going on or could it just be stress related ? my MRI is for variety of other symptoms, my Gp doesnt know about this problem, not sure whether i should mention it .

The human eye is incredibly complex, and faulty colour vision could be down to nerve damage.

You do need to get your colour vision checked, and there are plenty of on-line tests to help you with this.
Just remember if you want to search for yourself use “color” and not the English spelling. To get you off to a good start:

and scroll down to the Integrated Test for practitioners and researchers.
It does the basic tests, and checks for different brightness levels (note that ambient light affects percepption of emitted light).

Any test that refers to “Ishihara” will be more conventional, but give you just as good an idea if you have a problem.

Geoff

Hi Serina,

I’m afraid that knowing you have this problem, and it wasn’t just a one-off, you need to do the sensible thing and stop driving, before you kill someone - or yourself.

I know this will come hard, especially if you are dependant on the car for many things, including work. But overshooting red lights a total of five times now just isn’t safe, and I’m sure you know, deep down, that you can’t go round taking this risk. Five times, so far, you’ve been lucky - nothing awful happened. How many times do you think it will take before something does?