Forum

Medical Retirement?

Hello all Just want to know if anyone has any experience with Medical Retirement? Or know anything about it? I have been paying into an NHS pension although minimal amounts unfortunately due to my now 9 hours/week. Oh and the lovely ATOS people say I’m fit for work!!! Although my health has deteriorated recently. I’ve heard some people can get a payout? Will I get a pension? Should I re-apply for ESA? Sorry lots of questions!! Just don’t know what to do Thanks for reading and advice will be appreciated xxx

Hello Rachel,

Appeal. I have no experience of ATOS but an appeal does seem to do the trick + get a letter from your doctor. Are you associaed with an MS Therapy Centre, they will usually have someone who will help out with the beauracy of form filling and knows what answer to give for each question.

No pension until you are at pensionable age. I am medically retired, DLA and Incapacity work benefit or what ever it is called. Retired in Jan 2012 and no assessment by ATOS.

Why did you stop work? Do you have reason for retirement? Talk to MS Therapy Centre, CAB or MS Nurse. Medical retirement is a one way street but you must get some advice/help

Hope this helps

Patrick

Hi Rachel,

I am medically retired.

The first thing you need to get is your employer to declare you “Unfit to Work”

Bearing in mind you have already been assessed by ATOS, and declared fit. So there is a possibility that you may not recieve ESA but JSA instead, after a period of time.

Your pension provider may have to decide if they would retire you on “ill health” reasons to access your works pension.

You state that it is only a small pension scheme you have contributed to, so be prepared for bad news. It all depends on your age, contributions, working age left, lenght of service and other various factors to many to list …

I think you need to talk to someone, try your MS branch, they may have someone close to you who can help more.

I hope all goes well. Andy