Forum

Making mountains out of molehills since 1986

Hello everyone! Thanks to everybody who responded to my panicky posts about starting Copaxone. All went fine with the nurse who trained me and I can’t believe how easy it is to do. The autojector is definitely my new favourite contraption. Now I feel like an enormous dunderheed for making such a huge song and dance before starting. I did hit a muscle when I injected my thigh yesterday and that hurt. Any tips on how not to do that again? Claire xx

Hi Claire Sorry no tips on how to miss a muscle. But millions of congratulations for your success. Well done you. Think everyone gets extremely anxious, myself included when starting to inject. It’s not really a very natural thing to do - but gotta be done. Hugs Min xx

Thanks Min! You’re spot on, not natural at all but it’s for our own good at the end of the day. Take care :slight_smile: xxx

well done claire!

carole x

Well done Claire I have been using the auto injector for 10 years and have caught a few muscles in that time. If you pinch the skin on your thigh between thumb and forefinger and inject into the skin there you are likely to miss the muscles. I hope this helps. Neil

Thanks Carole

Cheers Neil! It’ll be thigh day again on Tuesday so I’ll definitely give that a try and hopefully it’ll feel a bit better.

Hi claire, like neil says pinching skin between finger and thumb lifts it away from muscle

so you inject into “subcutaneous” tissue, (subcut injection) so you shouldnt hit muscle.

Give it at 90° [ straight up] if you can pinch 2 inchs.

Give it at 45 ° [at a slant ] if you only pinch 1 inch.

google ’ injection techniques’ they show some pictures to guide you

Hope this helps you, sorry! i am a nurse had to explain xx

good luck kitty.

Hey there Kitty! Magic thanks. That’ll be some bedtime reading tonight :slight_smile: Claire xx