Interesting research on exercise & fatigue

Hi

Someone just sent me this link about some research that’s been done on the effects of exercise on fatigue and general well-being. I for one definitely feel better for getting exercise - both physio exercises and other more intensive things. CBT was also included in the study and I’d agree that that can be a useful tool as well. What do others think?

Dan

Hi Dan

I would agree with you on the benefits of exercising - my physio has given me exercises to imporve my stamina and raise my heart rate which definitely has a positive effect on my fatigue levels. I have had no formal experience of CBT so I can’t comment on that but from this I think it is worth looking in to. I think there must be various studies regarding exercise and ms as my sister was asked to take part in one in Sheffield but she didn’t meet the criteria - she was already going to the gym weekly and they wanted people who were non exercisers so they could measure their improvement. This report seems to provide good evidence for doing it - if I can just get up off the settee !

regards Helen

hiya dan…

i think…theres alot to be said for self help but i mean in the sense that physio (or whoever) can recommend/suggest exercises but its up to u to do them! i think that too many people do once and claim its not beneficial. often and shorter time is best.

as some know, following a huge, life changing relapse my life has been turned upside down BUT i still exercise as i can-that means getting kids to move my limbs so they are still moving. i am aware that may change as i further deteriorate but i believe that u should never give up as long as u r able manage some movement in whichever way u can do it can only be helpful- trying to remind the pathways to go the right route.

ellie

If you follow this link, you will find that the research was funded by the MS Society and is reported on in the News and Research section of this website:

Heartening :slight_smile: