Exercise and fatigue

I spent this weekend at the Whitby Goth Weekend, something that hubby and I have been doing for several years. I expect to be tired at the end of the weekend because there’s a lot of walking around involved, some of it up hill. This time, though, I was physically and mentally shattered after just a few hours, even with a rollator to rest on. This is much quicker than on other occasions doing about the same amount - even more, sometimes.

I’m wondering how much of my tiredness is chicken-and-egg. After a weekend like this I have at least 2 or 3 lazy days to recover. After I’ve “recovered” the amount I can do is restricted. My neuro-physiotherapist has advised against weight-bearing exercise because of my foot slap problems, so my daily walks are no longer an option. I can’t do the distance now, anyway. I used to do 2 miles in about 50 minutes, 5 days per week, and actually felt better for it. Now it takes me more than an hour to walk 1.5 miles, the distance from our local hospital, and I’m shattered at the end of it. I certainly couldn’t do it every day. But how much of that is because I’ve got out of the habit of daily walks and how much is because my MS is affecting my strength and mobility? How could I find out without ruining what little health I have left? I’ve been thinking of buying a folding exercise bike because my neuro-physiotherapist says it would be good exercise for me and might help to strengthen my ankle, but I’m wondering how much use it would get if I tire so easily. Even the exercises in “Mr. Motivator’s Move It for MS” tire me out, and they’re designed for people with MS!

Is it possible to improve my stamina? Are there any gentle exercises I can do to improve my strength and flexibility? I’ve tried Tai Chi and at the moment I’m not even fit enough for that!