I am a nurse , new diagnonosis of MS, dont know what to expect when I go back.

Hi there, I am a Staff Nurse, with a new diagnosis of RRMS, I am gutted if I am honest, I have been told to take some time off work to get my head round it, how long is long enough? Now I know why I am so shattered after a 12.5hr shift, takes me days to recover.

Not able to see the consultant till next month sometime. Not on any meds at the moment, I am exhausted. x

Hiya I think time off is a good idea as i’m sure those two little letters (ms) are in your thoughts constantly.

Fatigue is a symptom many of us relate to,and I would think its one of the main reasons for people making adaptations at work.

You have already found your shift patterns difficult, are you currently in a relapse…now you know what your symptoms have been?

It is usually a good thing to wait before seeing the professionals as it gives you time to get over the shock and to think about the answers or explainations you need.

Have you got an ms nurse assigned to you?

You will know yourself when you are ready to face going back…and who you are going to tell. Being in the care profession as I am/was I think as part of your duty of care you will need to share the dx with your manager so risk assessment can be put in place etc.

Lots to think about so take your time and fire away on here. Dont forget the new diagnosis part is full of people in your situation aswell.

Take care

Pip

Thanks Pip,

My manager knows already, I thought it only courtesy to let her know why I am off, she was great, her quote was, “with a diagnosis comes support” I have spoken to an MS nurse last week, she was great. The irony is that when I was student I had spent the day with her. I seem to be better when my family are around, when they are at work/school my mind goes into overdrive. I know I am not ready yet as I think I would burst into tears if anyone asked me why I have been off.

You are right, lots to think about, thanks for the advice.