how, when and why to give up work

hello fellow MSers,

Unfortunately I feel like the time is approaching to give up work. Everything is becoming such a struggle, now including speech as from.the last relapse. As a teacher I don’t feel I have the necessary fire in my belly to get kids to remain on task for an hour at a time, let alone the energy to work in the evenings and weekends (yes, most if us do, as well as for most of the copious holiday time we get). I’ve applied for four days per week as from September to give me some respite and thinking time, as thank God the critical illness has paid off the mortgage.

If anyone has given up work id really appreciate any advice or tips on when,how and at what stage in ‘your MS journey’ (sick, and sic) you did it.

In short, my symptoms are getting worse by the week, and if, 5 weeks post relapse, this is my new ‘normal’ then I’ve not got much of a choice. Not self pity btw, just cold objective reality.

yours, ever hating michael gove, fluffyollie xx

Hi Ollie,

Slightly off at a tangent I’m afraid, but I don’t think five weeks is anything like long enough to tell what your “new normal” will be, so beware of acting hastily. It’s much easier to get out of a job than back into one, so I’m glad you will not be making any firm decisions until the Autumn, at the earliest.

My worst relapse - coincidentally the one (as with many people) that led to my diagnosis - lasted about a year. I’m not saying there were no improvements at all before that, but it was a full year before things got as good as they were every likely to be. How I was at five weeks (struggling to walk five minutes to the post office, and pick up a single blanket from the dry-cleaners) would have been in no way indicative of how I am again now (able to walk 3.5 miles unaided).