Forum

How to get back to work????

Hi all,

I really REALLY wanna get back to work! Especially now i am single and alone all the time! The only problem is my fatigue. It is very unpredictable and all of the medications i have tried work for a little while and sometimes not at all. I find it very hard getting up in the morning, and some mornings i do not feel at all fresh and take something to boost my energy and that doesnt work. Other days it does a little but not long enough or consistent enough to work. I am literally going insane! I am very qualified! I have a nursing degree, a psychology degree have worked in so many different settings and been really good at everything i do (not to blow my own trumpet but its true!). How can i do this? I am getting my nurse pin number back in Feb 2012, but there is no way i could work as a nurse.

Any ideas or help would be great! I NEED a life! I need money and i need friends! x x x x x

Hi Linzi, are you able to exercise? I’ve found it’s helped loads with fatigue, and I feel good after a workout. I think it’s probably going to take a while if your fatigue is really bad. But, it’ll be worth it in the end. I’ve also heard that hbot can be good for fatigue. Sorry if that’s not very helpful :frowning: you sound like you’ve tried lots already! Suz xx

I would think about part time work, maybe even self employed so that you can work hours around what you can do. Larger organisations are better at offering flexible working and will have more knowledge of employer responsibilities. Job Centres should have Disability Employment Advisers, but I dont know how good they are at getting people back to work.

DLA is still paid to people who are in employment, so that might be a help.

How about voluntary work in the interim? Would get you out and about, and look good on your CV. Plus of course you have control over hours etc. Would be useful too for you to see just how you manage your MS in the wider world.