Hey all

Hi everyone. I’m new to all these forums. I was diagnosed in may 2020, the very first lockdown we all had. My brother was diagnosed 10 months before me so been a very trying 18 months or so. I don’t think I have really come to terms with having MS at all but I’m trying to be as normal as possible. How and when did everyone come to terms with your diagnosis?

1 Like

Truthfully i keep thinking i havent. I am convinced its a mistake. The neurologist got it wrong even after all the years of trying to get a diagnosis for me.

Strangely enough yesterday I said to my daughter being told you have a life long disease is just too much. But in my heart I know as slowly things are going downwards. I worry for my two girls. I often wonder if my eldest is worried she has it so i try not to be weak in front of either of them, or go on about my symptoms.

I was brought up with my grandad with parkinsons and when we came back from abroad and we would stay with them, i would help with his care. I was only very young but i loved him a lot. he was a lovely kind man. Then sadly my dad got sick he was RAF did a stint in Christmas Island and slowly over the years deteriorated. The MOD doctor said he had Lupus so i had to watch him slowly deteriorate with that and also eventually he was diagnosed with Cryoglobulinemia. Over the years pop lost mobility and was always fatigued in terrible pain especially in his feet. We were never allowed to get near his feet. I do the same I often wonder if he actually had MS.

His cryo, effected him badly his kidneys slowly got worse etc but that could have been down to lupus too. so i was never really bought up in normal healthy home. My mum was the healthy one.

so hve i excepted my diagnosis just not sure, but i have learnt to live with it.

1 Like

Hi & MS takes over and to be honest after a 5 year nightmare I have not yet come to terms. It seems individual for all.
unique and complex are two words uttered frequently :crazy_face:

1 Like