Further Education with MS or not.

Hi,

I have been diagnosed with multiple sclerosis since I was 14, in August 2011. It’s very Rare for my age and I am a male. I was a Smart student acheiving A’s and A* in GCSE. However when I enrolled into Sixth form and have chosen (three difficult subjects in the country) Maths, Physics and Further Maths. I was stressing, and developed alot of attacks. One moment, I had an attack that had me absent from School for a week. After hearing I haven’t gotten A’s in my AS levels. I have dropped out and chosen an easier course.

I am now in my second year of college and now have to take a decision of either going to University (Computer science Degree) or Apprenticeship.

Also, I don’t want to stress out like I did in A levels which got me several severe attacks.

I have a friend of mine, she’s currently doing Foundation degree for Law; She told me that they help alot for people with MS. So i want to consider which route to take.

Help please.

Hello Salim, what a very difficult question you have asked. Your absolutely correct, stress is a major trigger for MS, and should probably be avoided.

i am way older than you, so probably completely out of touch with such things, but my recollection of when I was 18 and thinking about all things education/career, was that getting a job even a good job was the main driver for me. However, I had not been diagnosed with MS and didn’t need to consider this balancing act (I know now that I probably did have ms then, and doctors had suspicions not much later, but it was not on my radar). I really didn’t have a clue where I was going in reality, life is just what happens…