Forum

Full time wheelie query

I have just taken delivery of a powered wheelchair as I am struggling to walk more then a couple of steps before I need to rest on the rollator.

My question is - once I “give in” to full time sitting, how will I manage to use the toilet?

I would also appreciate reassurance if there is anyone out there who has used a wheelchair for years, but still has the ability to stand.

Hi anon

I’ve been using a manual wheelchair for nearly 8 years and can still stand & walk a little without much bother. Even when I’ve had a relapse that’s affected my legs I can still transfer to the toilet without needing to stand. I’ve got a raised seat which goes over the toilet which has grab rails, so I can hold on to that for support if I need to.

It might be worth asking to be referred to an occupational therapist, as they can advise on things like this. They can provide things like the toilet seat.

Hope that helps

Dan

I’ve been a wheelchair user for about 34 years. Ten years ago I had a leg amputated owing to MRSA but up to then I could walk a little and stand.

Never think you are ‘giving in’ more you use the chair to enable you to do what you want to do.

Something just crawled over my grave. I used the wheelchair in work at Heathrow in Baggage Tracing and sometimes went around the carousels to pick up light pieces and take them back to our office for registering.

The day the bomb went off in Terminal 2 I changed shifts with the person who brought the bag back to the office. That bomb may have gone off on my lap if I had not changed; shudder to think.

Anyway back on track your OT will get a handrail fitted in your bathroom and you will soon learn YOUR way to get on and off.

One thing do not have one of those flimsy toilet seats; get a nice solid wooden one bolted on.

George

PS My avatar is not me with a prison number; it’s me with a picture taken to do the knowledge.