Forum

FES

Hi all, does anyone use the fes (walkaide) my neuro said he thinks it will help my walking, but not thro the nhs only private! regards Tony…

I have been using a fes for about ten years (not walkaide) and they can certainly help dropped foot. The best bit is that they are available on NHS and approved by NICE.

www.odstockmedical.com

Hi tc!

I’ve been lucky enough to have used FES (for foot drop) for over a year now, and it has been extremely helpful.

Very recently, however, for every day when I wear it, it is causing my leg to be unbearably for the next 2 days!!! I’ve now heard a suggestion that funding for FES is no longer available, so I wouldn’t be at all surprised to hear that it was no longer available through the NHS (…too expensive & helpful, I’d guess?!!)

Last time I saw my Neurologist, he mentioned a medication called ‘Fampyra’ (Fampridine) which would have the same effect - it was nicknamed ‘the walking drug’.

At the time he mentioned it, it still hadn’t been approved for use in the UK. I believe it is now, but would be only too happy to have this clarified?

I’m seeing my Neuro at the end of next week, so ‘Fampyra’ is one of the things I intend to discuss with him.

I hope you are able to get FES one way or the other, and find it as helpful as I do

All the best and good luck,

Dom

Hi thanks for the replys, my nuero did say that he doubts i would get the fes on the nhs! ive been told that it costs around £3,000. private oh well id pay all i had to walk better than i do at present! this frampridine sounds intrestesting pls let me know how you get on dom. best regards to all… Tony…