Forum

DX in Feb...help needed please!

Hi everyone, this is the first time I’ve posted. I’ll start by explaining how my life has changed lately… I’d been having symptoms of numbness, tingling etc for a long time, but had buried my head in the sand, until last March I started to really struggle. My feet were so numb I became scared to drive, and started to have real balance issues and foot drop on my left side. I’m a teacher, and would bounce like a pinball from one wall to the other when I tried to walk down the corridor, couldn’t stand in the playground, and was really struggling to walk. At the end of May 2013, I admitted to my family I needed help and went to the GP with my fears of MS. He did initial tests, and referred me to a neuro. I very rapidly went downhill, and within 2 weeks needed a frame to walk from room to room at home, and a wheelchair to leave the house. My left foot became completely numb and totally paralysed. I saw the neuro in July, and he immediately said he thought it was MS and sent me for blood tests and a full MRI. He prescribed 5 days of oral methylprednisolone, which have given me movement back in my toes and ankle of my left foot, but I am still heavily disabled, still needing the frame at home and wheelchair when we go out. The MRI confirmed MS, then I had a LP in November which supported this diagnosis. I saw the neuro 10th Feb for the LP results, and he confirmed I definitely have MS, but he wanted me to have another full MRI with contrast ‘to get a better picture of what’s happening’. He also prescribed Amitriptyline for nerve pain and headaches - he started me on 10mg a day, but I’m up to 30mg now, and still regularly have to take paracetamol for headaches. I had the MRI in March, and had an appointment with the neuro which they cancelled at the last minute, and I’m now waiting for the new appointment on 16th June. I’ve got various questions really: Will the next MRI tell him which type of MS I have? Will he offer me DMDs consider