Forum

Does anyone really care ?

I am have relapsing and remitting M.S . I have been managing it myself for the 11 years . The trouble is that my partner of 3& half years left me a few months ago and due to the stress and upset of him going it has now contributed to be having a terrible relapse . I’m so upset and scared being on my own and having a relapse . I’ve never been in this situation before . I have even begged my ex just to come and see me cause I’ve felt so scared and he said no . He said that he had his own problems . I feel so upset that he won’t help me . This is a horrid disease to have and I feel so alone . Mel x

Stress won’t help you ms have you spoken to your GP?

This is going to sound harsh, but in a way, I’m glad for you that your ex was firm and said no.

However tempting it may seem right now, I don’t think getting re-entangled with an ex, just because you’re having a relapse, is going to be good for you long term. What’s going to happen? You recover, he says: “Right, you’re OK now, I’m off!”, and you relive the breakup all over again? Not good for you - or for him either. You can’t cling onto someone by sending them on a guilt trip because you’re ill. If he’d relented and come running, it would just be harder for both of you, when you get better, and he has to make clear the decision still stands - he doesn’t see a future together (and possibly you didn’t either, as it’s wrong of me to assume the split was solely his decision).

So illness isn’t a good reason to try to resurrect a relationship that wasn’t working out. For a start, it’s drastically unequal, if you’re begging because you’re scared, and he’s only responding out of duty or pity - that’s not a relationship you’re in because you both want to be.